Cloverfield

1146500012_5442.jpg

So me and a few guys went to see Transformers the other night. However, that is not what I want to talk about…I want to talk about the last trailer they showed before the movie began. I am going to go out on a limb and say it might be one of the coolest trailers ever…and here is the interesting part…it is a movie no one has even really heard about…in fact although saying that it is produced by JJ Abrams and giving the audience the release date…they don’t even tell you the name of the movie.

Now understand something…I love JJ Abrams (creator of Alias and co-creator of Lost)…I think he is a genius and I am pretty much willing to follow that guy where ever his mind takes me…but this movie has taken me by surprise…so I did some digging.

I know that working title (doubtful it will stay this way) is Cloverfield…unfortunately that’s about all I have besides the trailer itself. The trailer opens with a bunch of teens partying. Apparently one of them is leaving town tomorrow and everyone is kind of bittersweet about it. Then they hear a giant ruckus and head outside to see a massive explosion in the distance. Lots of damage and chaos ensue…while out on the streets people are running around all panicky-like. Then the head of the Statue of Liberty lands in the middle of the street and the date of January 18, 2008, pops up. It’s rumored that it could be a new take on a monster flick…but who knows. I also know that it is shot with handhelds (ala Blair Witch Project) which although shaky adds a cool element.

I honestly can’t think of a time when I have been so excited to see a movie I know little to nothing about. I wish the trailer was on-line…sadly it is not yet. So, if you get the chance go see Transformers…if for no other reason to see the marketing genius of an unknown movie…as for me I gotta go clear my schedule for January 18.

2 thoughts on “Cloverfield

  1. Have to go clear your schedule? Did you already have a lot goin on that day?

    Dang. Planing that far in advance. you are definitely more popular than me.

Leave a Reply

