When Space Mountain Breaks Down

space1.jpg

Leanne and I had the great privilege of going on a double date tonight with our friends Bill and Jennifer Gibb (we have been trying to get together for about 5 months) …where did we go you might ask….well the Happiest Place On Earth of course. We started off our evening with corn dogs…not Weight Watcher friendly…but frickin amazing! Then Bill and I challenged the girls to Buzz Lightyear Astroblasters…we kicked their butts! Then things got interesting.

space2.jpg

We decided to go on Space Mountain. Now, mind you I haven’t been on Space Mountain in about 6 years. We get on the ride…were screaming…I’m choking on Jennifer’s hair…and then it happens…we stop.

The music keeps playing…but we ain’t movin. Suddenly our darkened room was filled with light and for the first time in my life I got to see the inside of Space Mountain. This may not be a big deal to some…but I have wanted to break down on that ride since I was a kid…just so I could see what it looked like. And let me tell ya there is a whole lotta metal going on in there.

space3.jpg

space4.jpg

After about 5 minutes the released our breaks and pushed us free to follow the track to it’s end. When we reached “Spaceport” they turned off the lights and let us go again. It was a blast! We laughed so hard that Bill has all but lost his voice…we even bought the picture. Anywho, it was good times once again at the Magic Kingdom…and great times with Bill and Jennifer…minus of course the terrifying movements of Alice in Wonderland…that ride is scary!

Until next time…

6 thoughts on “When Space Mountain Breaks Down

  1. Christopher you are so funny….choking on my hair!! =) We had a great time and thanks for all of the lessons on the happiest place on earth….DISNEYLAND WILL NEVER BE THE SAME AGAIN!!!

  2. I’ve not only seen it with the lights on, but i’ve ridden it with the lights on, that makes you not want to ride again, just a large twisted ball of steel and you so think you’re going to hit your head.

  3. Soo cool! I haven’t ridden on that ride since having jackson…now I’m the jealous one.

    Always love the disney updates.

Leave a Reply

