Fireflies

I am currently in Maryland, and outside my window I watch as fireflies dance in mid air.  I remember the first time I saw fireflies was on Pirates of the Caribbean at Disneyland – of course those were just small lights attached to wires in a darkened space.  But these fireflies are real – excitedly flying through the thick humid air of a summers evening.

I can remember as a kid being fascinated with these little lightning bugs, always wishing I could see a real one.  Here tonight I see hundreds filling my vision with a symphony of random fireworks.

Why am I so amazed at such a small creature?  I don’t know really.  Maybe I am just captivated at Gods wonder in something so small and complex.  Maybe it goes back to my childhood – always wondering what it would be like to catch one of these creative bugs.  I don’t know.  Maybe I’m just a little jealous of them soaring to and fro enjoying the freedom that God has created for them.

I feel like we have aged many years these past 4 months as we have gone through so many ups and downs. But good as always comes from difficulty – the thirst and wonder we once had is returning and above all else we are dreaming again and let me tell you it is so good to dream again.

I am finding that freedom once again to fly to and fro with only trust in God and dreams to guide me.  As night falls and the fireflies conclude their symphony I know that tomorrow evening they will be back reminding me to fly free- uninhibited – unashamed…in the freedom and creativity that God has given me.

Until Next time…and Dreaming Big…

2 thoughts on “Fireflies

Leave a Reply

