My Top 10 Books of 2008

As many of you know, I am a reader.  In fact as I type this I am getting ready to go to Barnes and Noble to get more reading material.  Below is my top 10 books that I read in the year 2008 not all of them came out in 2008 but most of them did.

10. Outliers – Malcom Gladwell: I found this book to fascinating and challenging with a great sense of humor throughout.

9. Disquiett – Julia Leigh: Probably the most disturbing fiction book I have read in a long time.  If you like bleak, strange, creepy, and odd this is the book for you.

8. State by State – Matt Weiland and Sean Wilsey: A book that is made up of essays from all 50 states.  Sounds boring right?  Quite the opposite.  You got a unique view of life outside of your own bubble.

7. Memoirs of an Ordinary Pastor – D.A. Carson: An interesting read that made me both irritated and comforted with a tinge of non contentment.

6. Tribes – Seth Godin: Not as good as some of his other books but he still landed in my top 10.  Which I am sure is very important to him since he knows I have over 400 readers.

5. Monster of Florence – Douglas Preston: I have read most of Douglas Preston’s books because I like his style.  This book is a notable non-fiction that traces a compelling story of a murderer in well…Florence.  Come on people read the title.

4. Crazy Love – Francis Chan: I love Francis Cah and want him to be my friend.  There I said it.

3. The Trouble With Paris – Mark Sayers: This book got me all kinds of twisted.  I agreed, disagreed, laughed, got angry…everything I would hope to get from a non-fiction Christian book.

2. The Black Swan – Nassim Nicholas Taleb: Yes it came out in 2007 but I didn’t read it until this year.  it’s think I’m not going to lie but I’m telling you will challenge the way you see some things and if your looking will give you a glimpse of the sovereignty of God.

1. A Voyage Long and Strange – Tony Horwitz: I like History and this book is a funny and intriguing look at Americas histroy filled with stories most are unfamiliar with.  I know it sounds odd to suggest a history book but I am telling you anyone can enjoy this book.

What were some of your Favorites?

One thought on “My Top 10 Books of 2008

  1. your #10 is my #1. I thought is was packed full of ideas and strange studies. I really didn’t read enough in 2008, maybe I’ll commit more in 09. Cheers for list.

    isn’t Seth Godin’s book available free online?

Leave a Reply

