My Other New Year’s Resolution

home_photo_books

Some of you know that my New Year’s resolution was to give up drinking soda for a year.  So far so good.  My other resolution was to read a book a week.  So far I have exceeded my expectations.  Knowing that I probably will not be ble to keep this pace up I come to you for book suggestions.  Nothing is off limits church books, fiction, biographies, business, leadership…whatever!  So what do you think I will enjoy?  What do you think I would find enightening?  What do you think would challenge me?  Let me know.

The books I have read thus far this year are…

Sandstorm

7 Deadly Sins of Small Group Ministry

Reliquary

Fusion

Images of God

Little Known Facts of Well Known Places: Disneyland

I am currently re-reading Outliers, and I am in the middle of Kitchen Confidential.

OK, give me some suggestions…..

9 thoughts on “My Other New Year’s Resolution

  1. it’s a downer/uplifting only towards the end but its one of my favs ‘A Child Called “It”: One Child’s Courage to Survive’ by David Pelzer and should be followed by it’s sequel ‘The Lost Boy’ finishing the series w/ ‘A Man Called Dave’. I have the first two and would be happy to lend them to you when/if you would like to read them.

    another book i’d suggest would once again be a series of two books ‘Daktar Diplomat in Bangladesh’ by Viggo Olsen which should be followed by ‘Daktar II: A Decade of Miracles in Bangladesh’. I have both *as both books are written by my grandfather 🙂 * once again just let me know if you would like to borrow them sometime!

  2. Touching History: The Untold Story of the Drama That Unfolded in the Skies Over America on 9/11

    The Hidden Face of God: Science Reveals the Ultimate Truth

    What’s So Great About Christianity?

    Made to Stick

    I know these are good (in my opinion) because they are the books I couldn’t stop talking and thinking about.

  3. I’m mainly a fiction reader…I’d recommend The Kite Runner or A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hoseeini and Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. One of my all-time favorites is The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, though it’s probably written more for a female audience as it is a love story, but it does have the sci-fi element of time travel. I recently read Kiss by Ted Dekker, it was decent…do you still read his books? I believe you were the one who introduced me to Dekker with Three.

  4. I’ve got a couple novels I have to read for an online class. I will let you read both of them AND give you the privilege of writing my papers for me!

    On second thought, you should probably leave the paper-writing to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

