Give it up

Give what up exactly?  Well, that’s up to you.

The past 7 days God has been destroying my life…in a good way.  Now that in no way makes it easy but I know its what needs to happen.  Its ironic to me that all of this is happening shortly before Easter, and even more immediate-Lent.

When people here Lent, they might think empty Catholic ritual.  When I hear Lent I think, opportunity to deny myself something so that I can draw closer to God. Which is exactly what needs to happen.

I began participating in Lent about 5 years ago and have not regretted it.  In fact this year I am wanting to challenge you to give up something for Lent. There is something to be said (biblically and practically) about fasting from something so that one can draw closer to God. So for 40 days why not take something out of your life as a sacrifice?  For 40 days why not take something out of your life and be intentional about drawing close to God every time you think or see that thing you are giving up.  Some of the things I have given up in the past include; potatoes, movies, tv, and soda.  Traditionally, people give up meat but I think anything that you consume a lot of will do just fine.

It begins tomorrow.  So, give it up.

Leave a Reply

