A door

I have this postcard on my desk.  I’m not really sure where I got it or who might have given it to me but it stands right next to my laptop.  In fact I am looking at it as I type this.  On this postcard there is some body of water in the background and a sandy beach with large tufts of grass.  In the middle of this scene is a large tree and upon this tree is a door.  No, not like a Keebler elf door, a real door.  It’s weathered, cracked, with 6 panels – 2 small at the top – 2 large in the middle – and 2 large at the bottom.

There is nothing extraordinary about this door other than the fact that it is all alone, seemingly out of place, leaning up against a tree.  When I look at this postcard I can’t help but be intrigued.  Why is the door here?  What’s behind the door?  Who brought the door?  How long has the door been here? These questions race through my mind not because I’m crazy (although some would argue that) but because that door signifies something to me.

I have mentioned recently that God is destroying my life…in a good way…or perhaps I should say in a God way.  It has been almost a year since the proverbial poo hit the fan (and splattered the walls with the stench of a thousand rotting cows) because of the moral failure of the former lead pastor at Revolution.  Since then I have stepped up and I have pulled back.  I have been encouraged and I have been beat down.  I have been excited and exhausted.  I have laughed with people and cried with people.  I have relied solely on Christ and I have relied solely on myself.  In what can only be described as a schizophrenic year I have come to realize that at certain points in your life unknown doors stand before you.  Doors that seem out of place in an otherwise safe environment.  Doors that we are afraid to open because we know it would require something more of us.

In the past 12 months I have learned more than I ever thought possible in such a short amount of time and now as I look at this postcard with a picture of a door I realize that I have been staring at this door for far t0o long.

It’s time to open it.

3 thoughts on “A door

Leave a Reply

