20 Greatest Music Videos – Foo Fighters, Beyonce, Johnny Cash, OK GO, and a few others

A while back I had a post entitled “Best Live Performances”.  This quickly became one of my highest viewed posts.  Well this time I figured I would focus on music videos.  I am sure, like all my other posts, many people will disagree…Yeah, I’m ok with that.  However, I would love to hear your additions to my list.

One last thing, these are in no particular order.

Johnny Cash – Hurt – Simple and poignant.

When Doves Cry – Prince – Some may think I’m crazy but the song and the video show exactly why Prince is freakishly strange and talented.

Thriller – Michael Jackson – I hope I don’t need to justify this.

Sabotage – Beastie Boys – I actually don’t care for the song that much but the video made me want to dress up and run around like a spy/robber.

Tonight/Tonight – Smashing Pumpkins – Beautiful.

This too shall pass – OK GO – Seriously one of the coolest videos I have ever seen.

Weapon of Choice – Fatboy Slim – Anything with Christopher Walken not being creepy has a place on this list…and it’s an awesome video.

Fell in Love With a Girl – The White Stripes – Although Seven Nation Army is a better song, this video encapsulates the creative genius that is Jack White.

It’s Oh so Quiet – Bjork – Sure she is strange, sure she wore a swan dress once…but come on! This is a great video.

Sweet Child O Mine – Guns N Roses – Classic and necessary.

The Rain – Missy Elliot – Crazy, inventive, and in some ways terrifying…

No Rain – Blind Melon – Two words – Bee Girl.

Janie’s Got A Gun – Aerosmith – By far their best video and one that to this day is disturbing and sad.

Where the Streets Have No Name- U2 – Because U2 is part of the soundtrack to my life.

Do Wop (That Thing) – Lauren Hill – Catchy, fun, and intelligent. Most people don’t really pay attention to the lyrics but you should.

Single Ladies – Beyonce – I don’t care who you are…you know you like this video.

Float On – Modest Mouse – It’s just that good.

House of Cards – Radiohead – Trying to pick just one Radiohead video for a greatest  list is like trying to stop a river with a poncho…kind of difficult.

Blaze of Glory – Bon Jovi – Young Guns II…there I said it.

Everlong – Foo Fighters – Because Dave Grohl is a funny genius.

5 thoughts on “20 Greatest Music Videos – Foo Fighters, Beyonce, Johnny Cash, OK GO, and a few others

  1. I would personally add Tom Petty’s “Dont come around here no more” because I think it was awesome. In fact, truth be told, I think most of Petty’s videos are awesome… “Rebel with out a clue” with Johnny Depp and ” Last dance with mary jane” because im sick and morbid like that.

    And Im also a closet fan of the “single ladies” song.. cant help it, makes me wanna dance.

  2. I would say “Jeremy” by Pearl Jam was pretty intense, I also like “Freedom” by George Michael (guity pleasure). And I must add a Madonna video of course, so I’ll go with “Papa Don’t Preach” with Danny Aiello as her Dad.

  3. I think “Jeremy” by Pearl Jam is pretty intense, and of course I have to throw in a Madonna video so I would say “Papa Don’t Preach” with Danny Aiello as her Father.

Leave a Reply

