Fat people can’t be Christian.

At least, that’s what I heard. A while back a friend of mine came to me and asked me if I had heard a certain sermon from a certain well-known preacher concerning obesity.  I told him I had not, to which he said  I was going to be really angry.  I listened to said sermon by said preacher and he does in fact make the assumption that if you are fat that there is no way you can really be a Christian.  His point was that because the apparent addiction to food had not come under the Lordship of Christ then you couldn’t be really saved.  I heard this message shortly before moving back to New Orleans and with everything else that was going on I pushed it out of my mind.

That is until two days ago when I heard another message by the same preacher where in it he again pushed the fact that fat people can’t be Christian.  Now, I fully believe that context is king so I made sure I listened to the entirety of the messages even looking at the message series as a whole to see if I was missing something…yeah…I wasn’t.

Here’s the deal.  I fully believe (even as a fatty) that all things should come under the Lordship of Christ. I would never argue against that, except in this case this preachers point goes far beyond the Lordship of Christ and more into a dogmatic authoritative bias presented in arrogance and lacking any real biblical merit.

My point is this…to say that someone is not a Christian or is unable to be in relationship with Christ  because of a struggle, addiction, past sins, generational sins, etc is saying that grace does not exist.  And if grace does not exists than what’s the point? So, to all my fellow bigguns…to all my fellow wanderers who struggle with a myriad of things life throws at us…don’t let the arrogance of one get you down.  His grace is sufficient…even if a few say otherwise.

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “Fat people can’t be Christian.

  1. Thanks for your post. You are right on! (of course) And it’s helpful no matter who you are or what your body type to be reminded that Grace is the only way we can approach our King. And as you said (and scripture says) His grace is sufficient. Good encouragement.

  2. I think most of us would agree with you on this post. We’d all say gluttony is a sin and needs to be addressed, as is greed, consumerism, hatred, all the other crap we still have in our lives as Christ followers. However, many of those people who would agree with you that those issues take time and don’t disqualify a person from being a Christian would turn around and say you definitely can’t be a Christian if you are a homosexual. Makes you wonder, which one it is. Either his grace is enough for everything or nothing.

    On a side note, you know we’re all curious who the preacher is now. I mean, he did preach it publicly. 😉

  3. I know without a doubt God has called & uses many people who are big. Or like my pastor says “blessed.” I can argue & defend all day long that fat, blessed, people like myself cannot just blame that its gluttony, but some form of genetics or medical condition like diabetes. My pastor had always been a hefty boy growing up. He has diabetes. but God uses him in many ways. I’ve seen first hand God working miracles through my pastor. & my pastor is not sorry for being big. I was also pretty stocky myself. Thank God i do not have diabetes or any serious medical condition. Hey I was born at 10lbs.! & i’m a chick! I was bound to be blessed. It’s not like we bigger ppl go out of our way to become fat. No! Some of us are naturally like this. I am perfectly healthy. Alot of us don’t even care to stuff our face. We are just all trying to live our lives like Jesus (for those of us who are christians). On a final note I tell you this… God would not have allowed you to become the way you are if HE didn’t wan’t you to! There is a reason. I know one of the reasons on my account would be because had i’d been skinny, i would not be a christian. I would care more about my looks, my greedy self. I would do everything to become a top model lol!! I know how i would be. & i am glad that i was never skinny, because i would’ve really veered away from the Lord. I would’ve really tooken advantage. So don’t you ever think that God condemns you for being fat. He loves you just the way you are. Fat people CAN be christian. Those of who we are “blessed.” & blessed indeed.

    1 Samuel 16:7
    The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”

    Romans 8
    1Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus,[a] 2because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death. 3For what the law was powerless to do in that it was weakened by the sinful nature,[b] God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful man to be a sin offering.[c] And so he condemned sin in sinful man,[d] 4in order that the righteous requirements of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the sinful nature but according to the Spirit.

  4. Is this blog for the obese to comfort each other and encourage each other to keep on walking on the misserable road to the grave or what? Obesity is being very mean to yourself and all others around you AND especially to your loved ones and future care givers. very very sad ending ( talking from very hard experiance) and besides its wrong to take advantage of the government and health care providers for self inflicked problems due to lack of self control and self discipline.

Leave a Reply

